Critical Intro to O.T.

Sept 7, 1999


Leviticus is the third part of the Pentateuch. There is

an unsubstantiated roomer in Christian circles that the book of

Leviticus is irrelevant to the Church today.

Although Leviticus is basically a book of law, it is all

said and done inside a narrative about Moses, God and

the Israelites. The book is still law, regardless of this

narrative cover, and therefore tends to be a bit boring

to the sleep student.

The four main sections in Leviticus are; the sacrificial

laws, the priestly narrative, and the holiness code. Each of

these parts have clear instructions and rituals for the

people to practice in their lives. These rules were a

covenant. The sacrifice was a gift, from the individual

to God. Some sacrifices were to be a way to have

fellowship and communion with others. The sacrifices also made

the covenant solid by something called expiation.

Each offering, whether grain, cattle, sheep, bird, all had

different meaning and different purposes. Some were gifts of worship;

some were peace offerings or guilt offerings. (There were

many more types not listed.)

Renaud, 2

The book’s many laws and teachings are all for one

purpose, and that purpose is to show the Israelites

(and whoever else reading the book), that God is

Holy, and humans are unholy. The laws were to help

the Israelites from idolatry and to make them a showcase

to the other nations.

In the New Testament, Christians can see how the Book

of Leviticus relates to Jesus and his work on the

cross. The book of Hebrews describes the similarities.

The Book of Leviticus is a book about Holiness and

God. Even thought it is difficult to understand in our

day, It does not heart to read the book of


Back to Fiction